FFA Earns Champion, Runner-Up Honors At Crops, Forestry and Entomology Area Judging Contest

FFA Earns Champion, Runner-Up Honors At Crops, Forestry and Entomology Area Judging Contest


DONALDSON, IN. - The LaVille Future Farmers of America (FFA) recently attended a crops, forestry and entomology judging contest at Ancilla College in Donaldson, IN.

FFA instructor Clint Watts took a total of 21 LaVille members to participate in the event.

This event is an invitational contest for forestry, crops and entomology, and brings together a group of school's in a sectional-like playoff.

According to Watts, the Indiana Entomology CDE purpose is to increase youth understanding of insects, control measures, and integrated pest management. 

The Area Entomology Career Development Event is composed of insect identification and quiz questions.

"The Forestry objectives of the 4-H/FFA Ag. Forestry event for youth are to develop leadership skills, to work as a team, and to practice good study habits; To acquire information about forest ecosystems and forestry skills used in forest management and the utilization of forest products; To appreciate and manage wisely Indiana's forest resources," said Watts. "The event itself is for students to identify 30 leaves, 10 seeds, and five woods. The senior written quiz will consist of 50 questions."

Faith Rock and Charlie Lemberis were both in the top five individuals of their respective divisions.  Charlie placed in Entomology and Faith in Forestry.

Schools from Marshall County - Argos, Bremen, Culver, Plyouth, and Triton - along with anyone else in the state are allowed to participate.

LaVille has fared well over the past three years during this event.  The entomology team has been third overall in 2017, second overall in 2018, second overall in 2019 the contest was started in 2017. This is the first time forestry has placed in the top 3 and they were first overall.


Congratulations to the following LaVille FFA team members:

*1st place Forestry Team: Faith Rock, Kaidyn Baker, Abigail Goffinet, and Maria Ingle

*2nd place Entomology Team: Kalista Lemberis, Charlie Lemberis, Elle Lemberis, and Megan Kurzhal